top of page

Brother Norman Campbell Receives Outstanding Alumnus Award from Talladega College

As Printed in the Florida Sentinel Friday, September 29th, 2023

Norman P. Campbell, Talladega College, Class of 1971, was selected the 2023 recipient of the Franklin W. Thomas, Sr. Outstanding Alumnus Award. The award was presented during the Na­tional Alumni Association's Triennial XVI meeting, July 27-30 2023

The Franklin W Thomas Sr. Outstanding Alumnus Award is the highest fonn of recognition given by the TCNM to an alumnus who has provided out.standing and consistent contributions in the interest of Talladega College.

The first official Grand Re­union was held in 1975 in At­lanta, GA. It was an idea that had been pondered for several prior years by Franklin W. Thomas, Sr. There have been gatherings in New York City, Detroit, and Los Angeles.

The Triennial Grand Re­union is on opportunity to gather with a cross section of "Reagan's" from across the country.

Campbell started his professional career with the Department or Criminal Jus­tice in Ft. Walton Beach. He relocated to Tampa in 1978, and retired from the depart­ment in 2011, as Chief Proba­tion Officer/Circuit Court Manager, Department or Jus­tice.

"One or the things I'm most proud about during my tenure, is that we reduced the total number of the juvenile population under the supervi­sion or Hillsborough County," he said.

After retiring from his pro­fossional career, Campbell continued the work he had begun in 2008 with the Tal­ladega College National Alumni Association, holding various offices until this past July when he stepped down as financial secretary for the or­ganization.

The biggest advantage there, is getting to know alumni across the country - and I've met a lot or them,"he said.

His spare time is spent taking care of projects at home, and being the "desig­nated waiter" for vendors lo help with those projects.

Campbell and his wife, the Honorable Marva Crenshaw, are the parents or 2 adult children.

Other than Campbell, 2 other Tampa Talladegans were recognized. Sybil Kay Andrews and Joann Stubbs Myers, were hon­ored with "Legacy of Leader­ship Awards."

40 views0 comments


bottom of page