top of page



The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.

On May 10, 1930, on the campus of Howard University, in Washington DC, the National Pan-Hellenic Council was formed as a permanent organization with the following charter members: Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternities, and Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta and Zeta Phi Beta Sororities. In 1931, Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternities joined the Council. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority joined in 1937 and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity completed the list of member organizations in 1997.


The stated purpose and mission of the organization in 1930 was “Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.” Early in 1937, the organization was incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois and bcame known as “The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated.”


For more information about the National Pan-Hellenic Council go to the NPHC Website


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
Founded: January 15, 1908
Institution: Howard University

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
Founded: January 5, 1911
Institution: Indiana University Bloomington

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
Founded: November 17, 1911
Institution: Howard University

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Founded: January 13, 1913
Institution: Howard University

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
Founded: January 9, 1914
Institution: Howard University

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
Founded: January 16, 1920
Institution: Howard University

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
Founded: November 12, 1922
Institution: Butler University

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.
Founded: September 19, 1963
Institution: Morgan State University

1541066459_NPHC_Logo_Color2 copy.png
bottom of page